Amelia is here!

I’m only a week behind in writing this post, miraculously. Amelia Cheryl was born on her due date, December 20, at 7:08am after an uncomplicated and very quick home waterbirth. She was 8lbs 2oz and 20 inches long. Everything went really quickly; I’d had early labor the two nights before but the day before things fizzled out so I was reluctant to call the midwife in case the same happened again. Fortunately we DID go ahead and call around 4:45…by the time she got there at 5:30 there wasn’t a whole lot of time waiting around! Everything about the homebirth experience was better than the two previous hospital birth experiences I’d had with the boys and I’m so thankful Tom was willing to step out of his comfort zone and give it a chance.

I’m posting this from my phone so I’ll try to post a picture but I haven’t in awhile so it may take a couple tries. The past week has been a whirlwind, with Christmas and all. I’m exhausted and the baby and I both have the cold that everyone else had either before or on Christmas. Hopefully it will pass quickly! Adjusting to life with a newborn and a toddler is…interesting enough without a cold thrown into the mix.

20111227-161455.jpg

6 Responses to “Amelia is here!”

  1. Erin Says:

    She’s just beautiful, Jill, congratulations to all of you!!!

  2. Joyce Loke Says:

    Jill, congrats!!! She’s beautiful!!

  3. Lisa Says:

    I found your blog through the WIPocalypse group and had to comment. Amelia is gorgous! what a sweetie. I hope you both feel better soon 🙂

    • jillejones Says:

      Thanks so much, Lisa! I’m not sure how much stitching I’ll get to do this year, but with so many people participating in the SAL at least I’ll get to look at lots of stitching pictures throughout the year. 🙂

  4. Susan Says:

    Amelia is adorable – congratulations, Jill! I’m sorry that I’m so far behind on my blog reading! You’ve definitely got your hands full now!

  5. Chiloe Says:

    Congratulations on your baby girl. When I left the blogging world you were expecting a boy ! lol She ‘s really a very cute baby. Enjoy ♥

Leave a Reply

