Too Close to Home

I have so many different things I need to blog about: the remodel, stitching, traveling up north to visit family (including my 92 year old grandmother) and the Redwoods, but I’ll get to all of that another day. Right now I’m still reeling from the disappearance of Chelsea King. For anyone who isn’t aware, she went missing while out on a run on the trails between our house and the community park where so many of Luke’s activities take place (baseball, basketball, and even soccer and Cub Scouts sometimes). We’ve walked the trails literally hundreds of times.

Although they are not officially claiming the body found the other day is hers, it’s highly unlikely that it isn’t. She was found just a few yards off the trail, 3/4 of a mile as the crow flies from our house. I know the trails so well that I could tell pretty quickly that ABC’s map was wrong given the location of the big oak tree.

If that wasn’t bad enough, the monster who is most likely responsible was a registered sex offender living around the corner from Luke’s school with his mom and step-dad. It’s a nightmare.

So, I have plenty of other things to write about, but right now I’m still trying to process this all. I still can’t believe it happened HERE. Although I didn’t know her, I know plenty of other teenage girls who are in our neighborhood, and it easily could have been one of them. In fact, the woman who was attacked by the same individual in December (thank God she managed to get away) is the stepdaughter of one of my co-workers. This whole thing is way too close to home for me and I’m just heartbroken for her poor family.

7 Responses to “Too Close to Home”

  1. RC Says:

    It’s such a sad story. 😦 It’s hard not to be consumed with the facts and details of this case since it happened in your own backyard. 😦 *hugs*

  2. Suzanne Says:

    OMG Jill, I didn’t realize this was *so close* to you! WOW. So terribly sad, and I bet he was responsible for the other girl last year disappearing too. What an ANIMAL. I can only imagine how in shock you are over it all.

    (HUGS)
    Suzanne

  3. Terri Says:

    Jill…when I first heard about this all I could think about was how close you guys lived to the park. It’s such a sad situation all around.

  4. Terri Says:

    Oops, I forgot to add that Boss was in court yesterday when they arraigned him and got an up close and personal view of a monster. 😦

  5. Desiree Says:

    I know what you mean. Tiny’s probably tired of me talking about avoiding predators and keeping herself from being a victim. I’m so grateful that we recently had a security system installed. Be safe.

  6. Joanne Says:

    That is terrible, and to happen so close to you it can be all consuming. Think happy things and take care.

  7. Sue Says:

    It is so awful, isn’t it?

    I didn’t realize you lived in that area. It is so beautiful, I remember driving through there once. It is hard to believe that such ugliness, terror, and more abound in our world, that’s for sure–and one never expects it close to home or in such a pretty place.

    I have been thinking of you and your new baby. Take care..and know that you’re not alone in your feelings about these poor girls. I wish as a society we could do more to get rid of these monsters.

Leave a Reply

