Ready for a Break

It has been a LONG week, and even though I only have five more weeks until I go out on leave, right now it seems like an eternity. Normally I like the time change at this time of the year. I know it’s an unpopular stance, but I hate getting up in the morning when it’s still dark out. I’ve managed to get up a lot “earlier” this week, but I’ve been staying up later and I’m exhausted. Luke has still not been quite 100% this week; I am thinking he must have had the flu after all, from comparing notes with other parents. I managed to avoid catching whatever he had, so that’s definitely fortunate! It’s been a busy week, though; Tom (and Luke…who was desparate to help) painted the hall bathroom, a coat at a time each night after work. I made dinner and cleaned the house and made sure Luke got his homework done, in addition to the regular weekly commitments. I also typed up 75 adopt-a-family wishlists (just 40 or so left for tonight/tomorrow and I’m done!). None of that would be a big deal, except at seven months pregnant I’m pretty darn tired most days. Thankfully Luke’s soccer game tomorrow isn’t until 1:30, so I can sleep in and recover a little, I hope.

I took “Hanky Pysanky” off the q-snaps the other day so that I can go back to SamSarah’s “Twenty Five Days” for awhile. Here’s where my progress was when I set it aside for now:

Well, that’s about it for now. Well, almost. I’m also really pissed off at the 4S Ranch Boys and Girls Club, who shifted their winter youth basketball season by a month, so they completed sign-ups mid-October instead of mid-November like the last two years. Despite the fact that Luke has played there for the last two years, and we’ve always gotten e-mails in the past, they didn’t send anything this time. I found out from another parent this morning at school…a parent whose husband coached the last two years and didn’t get notified of the change either. Tom is wondering if they’re trying to exclude the Westwood kids on purpose…I don’t know. We may still be able to get Luke in if there’s a cancellation, but I don’t know if it’s worth waiting around for it or not. There’s another league here that is holding evaluations tomorrow, so I may try to get Luke in there instead. It’s the RB league, which is technically the closest one to us, but we’ve never played there before because it doesn’t start until 3rd grade and the 4S league started in 1st grade. I guess the only upside is that there might be other friends of his that got dissed by 4S too, so maybe we’ll know people in the other league after all. I guess I’ll ask some of the other parents tonight at soccer what their plans are.

3 Responses to “Ready for a Break”

  1. Christine S Says:

    Hanky Pysanky looks great!! Sorry to hear about the basketball situation; I hope you can get something sorted out for Luke.

  2. Desiree Says:

    Who knows? Maybe this leage is run even better!

  3. JenJen Says:

    Love Hanksy Panksy! šŸ™‚ Good luck with the basketball situation – I bet he likes the new league even better.

Leave a Reply

