Father’s Day 2009

It goes without saying, I’m sure, that Father’s Day is not my favorite holiday. It was better this year; mainly because we had a fun distraction. We went to my in-laws’ house, which I wasn’t really wanting to do, but oh well. After picking Luke up from his dad’s at 3, we headed over.  It was a sunny day and they have a pool, so Luke was thrilled. I brought Hawaiian Garden and spent my time stitching, and of course it’s always nice to have a meal you don’t have to plan or prepare.

My in-laws’ best friends, who live just down the street, came over with their 8 week old puppy, which was the big highlight of the day. Luke was beside himself. He was completely enamored and followed the puppy around the entire time. He even got out of the pool for quite awhile to play with the puppy. Eventually he went back in the pool, at which point the puppy kept coming up to him. It was so adorable:

And, shortly after this next picture…

…the puppy ended up in the pool. We don’t have a picture of that, though. Luke was thrilled beyond words to “save the puppy”. He was asked if the puppy tried to swim but I don’t think the puppy had a chance since Luke had him out of the pool so quickly.

It’s in the very beginning thought stages now, but we’re toying with the idea of adding a puppy to the mix after the baby is born. Luke wants one SO badly, and it might not be a bad time for it when I’ll be home for a little while. But, we’re only just thinking about it; a dog is a lot of responsibility and we want to be sure we are willing and able to handle it before we take that on. We definitely will wait until we’re in a bigger house, at the very least. It was sure fun to play with a cute puppy for an afternoon, though.

5 Responses to “Father’s Day 2009”

  1. Susan Says:

    Very cute pictures!

    I promised Ethan a dog once we bought a house, and I’m really regretting it. I’m totally not a pet person. Ivemsnaged to convince him that we should get an older dog, rather than a puppy – I don’t have time to train a puppy!

    Good luck with whatever you decide to get!

    {{{hugs}}} for getting through Father’s Day.

  2. Holly Says:

    Cute puppy!

    I’m glad your father’s day was filled with fun. (Hugs)

  3. Karen Says:

    What great pictures, Jill! I think a puppy is a great idea, though I have to say, our “puppy” is just over a year and half old now and still giving us quite a run for our money. I can’t imagine having the responsibility of an infant on top of a puppy! Ack! Might want to reconsider the timing just a bit. ; )

  4. JenJen Says:

    Awww.. such cute photos, Luke looks really enamored with the puppy. 🙂 Good luck with your decision on when/if to get one for him. 🙂

  5. Sue Says:

    Darling photos, Jill. What a sweet puppy, and Luke is looking so much older now!

    Yes, this was the first Father’s Day without my dad , it was something I thought of a lot. We got through it, anyway…so that’s the good part.

Leave a Reply

