Pictures and other stuff

Well, I’ll start with the good stuff first, and that is I’ve got three finishes to share!

“Tooth Fairy Pillow” by A Stitcher’s Hands, completed 10/25/08:

The second is “Blackstone Fantasy Garden” by Ink Circles, completed 11/21/08:

And finally, I did a quick ornament this year for Luke; I’m not sure when it will actually get turned into an ornament, but the stitching is finished at least. It’s “Snowdon” by Jemini Designs (from the 2008 JCS ornament issue), completed 11/22/08:

Here is a very belated picture of Luke from Halloween this year; he went as Indiana Jones:

And here’s his jack-o-lantern from this year; a ghost with a crown (his idea):

Finally, here is his rocket from the Cub Scout space derby:

Okay then, I think I’m caught up with pictures! Luke actually missed the space derby (the rocket race) because his dad took him skiing in Mammoth. They’re on their way back today; I hope they had a good trip!

In other news, the house fell through. It’s a long story, and after doing a considerable amount of market research, I expect it will turn out to be for the best. We have our place listed so we will still sell it and look for a bigger house, but after we sell our current place we may rent for awhile to ride out this whole market thing. It was going to be too risky to carry both mortgages, and we didn’t qualify for the same loan that we did when we put the offer in 11 weeks earlier. What they’re requiring these days is beyond ridiculous…but it manageable if we sell our place first. I understand there was a lot of bad sub-prime lending, and of course they need to tighten up the requirements, but they’ve gone so far the other way that it’s not going to help the market recover. In the meantime I guess we’ll be able to indulge in a few “extras” this winter, like a couple skiing trips. I’m disappointed, but I am trying to stay positive. I really don’t think we’ve seen the bottom of the market yet, so hopefully it will work out in the end.

8 Responses to “Pictures and other stuff”

  1. Joanne Says:

    Sorry that the house fell through, some times these things happen for a reason.
    Your finishes look great.

  2. RC Says:

    😦 Sorry about the house. That really stinks. 😦

  3. JenJen Says:

    Oh Jill, I’m so sorry, I know you must be dissapointed. You are probably right though about the market, and I hear you about carrying two mortgages. I’m not 100% sure we’d qualify for that, but our mortgage guy seemed to think we would and offered it to us an option, but we just didn’t want to risk ending up with two mortgages for a really long time in a down market.

    Hopefully your house will sell soon and you’ll be out there finding better deals than the one you thought you had!

  4. Karen Says:

    Jill, the stitching looks great! Love the Tooth Fairy pillow! So sorry about the house. : (

  5. Stitcher S Says:

    Jill,
    I’m sorry about the house but in the end I know it will turn out great.

    A colleague of mine had two mortgages back in 2005, before the collapse. She and her husband had an awful time of it as their small condo didn’t sell. They almost lost it all. My late father sold real estate as a side job and he always said the best way to have a great way to negotiate was to have the first house already sold. It’s much safer.

    But I am sorry, the house was gorgeous but you will find another great one.

    Take care.

    Sue

  6. Karen Says:

    Jill, you’ve been tagged!

  7. Susan Says:

    {{{Jill}}} I’m sorry the purchase fell through.

  8. Judy Crowding Says:

    I’m trying to locate the Becky Boo’s tooth fairy pillow!!! I bought the pillow some time ago, but didn’t have any grandchildren at that time. Now I have 5! I would really like to do this pillow for each child. Please advise if anyone knows where I might purchase same. Thanks much from down south…..Judy Crowding, Hartwell, GA 30643

Leave a Reply

