Fire Season

I had planned to write a post yesterday about the looming fire season and general wariness, as inspired by a nightmare that Luke had Sunday night. He woke me up around 12:30 because he’d had a nightmare. In his nightmare he was at school and there was a fire even bigger than the one last year. He and his class evacuated and, in his words, “everyone in my class was okay and really lucky because none of us lost our homes but it really freaked me out.” Yeah, it would freak me out, too. It’s not like I can tell him, oh, go back to sleep it won’t happen, it’s just pretend. After last year, it’s always a terrifying possibility.

So, yeah, I was going to write about it yesterday. But, as things go, I got busy and never got to it. This morning around 11am I was sitting at work when people started talking about fire, and being able to see it from “the front room”. I was busy in my office and assumed they were talking about one of the fires in the area being visible from their home. Then people start milling around in the hall, more than normal. I looked online and couldn’t find anything in the news, but thought I’d go see what was going on. This was the view from work:

Scary! We also got to see an aerial drop, which was extremely effective:

Fire season is definitely upon us. It’s another October in California. Time to keep important papers together, make sure you don’t let your gas tank get below half-full, and be ready at a moment’s notice. I’d like to just skip to Halloween and November already. Thankfully the firefighters got it out really quickly. There are streets closed off within about a half mile of work, but they’re just checking hot spots. What a relief that it didn’t get worse!

In other news, I decided it was time to make Luke a tooth fairy pillow, while he still has teeth to lose (he’s lost 6 so far). He has one that’s just starting to get loose, so I’m going to be feverishly working on that until it’s done.

6 Responses to “Fire Season”

  1. RC Says:

    Scary! =( Get that tooth fairy pillow done while Luke still believes. My oldest just told me this weekend that he knows I’m the tooth fairy. WAH! I’m not ready for the gig to be up!! =)

  2. indystitch Says:

    How sweet – a toothfairy pillow! My parents just put the tooth in a shot glass and a little water and left it on the window sill above the kitchen sink…. 😀

  3. Susan Says:

    Good luck with the tooth fairy pillow!

    Scary pictures! Stay safe! I hope you don’t have to evacuate your house this season!

  4. Melissa C. Says:

    Oh Jill, I don’t know what to say. That’s horrible. I’ll be thinking of you guys and hoping fire season passes quickly and safely.

    I stitched Just Nan’s Splendora for our tooth fairy pillow. She has a little pocket made of corduroy on the back.

  5. Jenjen3574 Says:

    I’m thinking of you too! Hope you and all your loved ones make it through the season without any trouble at all – lord knows you had your share for years to come.

    I stitched this http://www.123stitch.com/cgi-bin/itemdetail.pl?item=00-1886 for Alex years ago and it has held up well.

  6. Karen Says:

    Wow! That’s really scary! Kind of exciting but who needs that kind of excitement, right? I’m glad you’re okay. Sending you lots of good thoughts for a safe and fast fire season!

Leave a Reply

