Miscellaneous non-stitching pics

So I am really close to finishing Mini Mystery I…if not tonight, definitely tomorrow night. I’ve been waiting to take any stitching pics until then, so I’ll take one of Spooky Halloween then too. In the meantime, I have a handful of non-stitching pics that are fun, so I thought I’d share them. (Christine there will be wedding pictures *soon*…I need to figure out which ones I want to upload).

First off, here is an interesting take on fashion, from the 2nd grade boy perspective. Luke was getting ready for school last week and Tom said “are you really planning to wear those?” The items in question being these fabulous purple and orange gloves with glow-in-the-dark bats on the palms. Last year in mid-November I had taken Luke with me to Joann’s one weekend. He saw them (and a matching hat…) in a clearance bin; I think it was under $3 for the festive ensemble. I didn’t put up a fight when he decided he *really* wanted them. They recently re-surfaced and have become his favorite fashion statement…that and the red wristband that came from a kid’s meal at Subway. Yeah, stylin’. I figured rather than put up a fight I’d let him wear them to school (is it wrong to hope he’d maybe lose them? Yeah, no such luck…) and take a picture for blackmail when he gets older:

Sometime last week in an attempt to add some variety to dinner I started looking through cookbooks again. While doing so I came across the “Just for Kids” cookbook that I’d bought a couple years ago when Luke’s school had a fundraiser. There’s a great picture of a hot dog octopus, or “octo-dog” on the cover. I thought it would be fun, and Luke was very excited about the idea, so I decided to make one for dinner Sunday along with homemade macaroni and cheese. It looked pretty cool, but Luke wouldn’t eat it because hot dogs only taste good off the grill. Sure am glad I only made one! It was fun though. We made brownie cookie ice cream sandwiches too, but I only took a picture of the “octo-dog”:

And one with is look of bemusement:

And, finally, here’s a picture for my brother Michael, who may or may not check in here occasionally. He indefinitely lent me his DS Tetris game, with the instructions to beat 200 lines. I finally did and then put it down for awhile. I recently picked it back up to see how far I could go on “endless”. The result, so far, is 268…and I took a picture to prove it:

So, that’s all for today. But I’ll have stitching pics again and wedding pics soon, honest!!

3 Responses to “Miscellaneous non-stitching pics”

  1. Jenjen Says:

    That hot dog octopus is really cool – I might have to try that one with my kiddos. Bet they won’t eat it either though. Even though they both like hot dogs something tells me Katie won’t eat anything that looks like an octopus. 🙂

  2. Melissa Says:

    We bought that cookbook from the same fundraiser at our school. LOL

    My girls have some very interesting fashion statements happening all the time, and I just let it go. They’ll grow out of it at some point.

  3. Susan Says:

    I’ll have to try that octo-dog recipe! Ethan is a *huge* hot dog fan!

Leave a Reply

