Pictures as Promised

And lots of them! First one is Luke’s first day of second grade, which was on Tuesday. I’m still trying to figure out how my baby can be in second grade already. I know that’s normal, but gosh it really does fly by doesn’t it? Check out the, um, fabulous shoes…he chose his entire outfit and insisted that the new shoes have the red laces instead of the black (they came with both). What you can’t see in this picture is that the back of the shoe, and back half of the sides, have a very bright red/orange/yellow pattern on them. Oh yeah, stylish:

Next up is my progress on the rotation relay, items 13 and 14. I spent 3.5 hours on Chatelaine’s “Mermaid Treasure Box” with the after pic here:

I spent just shy of 3 hours on Janlynn’s “Nativity” kit. All I worked on was the wiseman so I just took a picture of him only. It barely looks like I touched this one. I wasn’t even glued to gymnastics or anything; I just don’t stitch on aida anymore and the fabric was SO stiff. I felt like I was really fighting to push the needle through the fabric each time. I may stitch small things on aida in the future, but I definitely won’t be stitching a large project on it ever again! So here is the after picture with my exceedingly pitiful progress:

And finally, I have some pictures uploaded from our post-wedding trip to the redwoods. Here is the bed and breakfast where we stayed in Ferndale:

Here are a few of my other favorite pics from the trip..

In the Lady Bird Johnson Grove within Redwoods National Park:

At Trinidad Head:

The rest of the pictures can be seen at my flickr account here: here

5 Responses to “Pictures as Promised”

  1. Cheryl (momstitches) Says:

    You know, one of the best things about this Olympic stitching is not only working on all of your own WIPs, but seeing everyone else’s WIPs. And, in particular, those WIPs they may not work on (and therefore no pics) very often. I have to be careful about looking at your stitching pics, Jill. You are what DH calls “one of those influences” on me! LOL! You could have me starting 5 more WIPs in no time! And, no, I’m not going to tell you which I’m admiring (ALL of them) because I can already hear you saying, “But Cheryl, you already have it kitted. And you have plenty of fabric stash to choose from. What harm in a few teeny, tiny stitches?…”

  2. Sue Says:

    Love the photo of the first day of second grade, and I love the shoes.

    Your wedding trip looks spectacular! What a gorgeous part of the state…

    Enjoyed seeing your WIPS, too. Good for you, you go!

    Take care.

  3. Melissa Says:

    What stunning photos from the redwoods trip! Absolutely gorgeous!

    I hear you on the Aida. I found an old project from years ago that I had started on Aida before I switched over to linen & evenweaves. It wasn’t even a question for me. I dumped it. LOL

  4. Susan Says:

    I’m with Melissa – I would have dumped the aida. I’d rather start the piece again than continue to work on aida.

    Great pictures, Jill. Luke looks so grown up!

    I love the look of the B&B where you stayed, and the pictures of the redwoods are great!

Leave a Reply

