6 More…

Yep, in the last week I’ve managed to get through 6 more projects, bringing my rotation relay total to 12, which is 2/3 of the way through my rotation. I had a major goal of getting through the entire rotation once, which is why I’ve been working so hard on this. Yes, it would be fabulous to win, but I’d really like to get to each project at least once. Some haven’t been pulled out in 5 years…it’s ridiculous. Since I don’t have wedding pictures yet, here are my rotation progress pics:

#7: Victoria Sampler’s Hearts of America. I finished “Kansas” and started on “Arkansas”

#8: Victoria Sampler’s “Heirloom Christmas Sampler”

#9: Chatelaine’s “Misty Morning Vinyard”

#10: Drawn Thread’s “Spring Arbour”

#11: Genny Morrow’s “Nova”

12: Mystic Stitch’s “Augusta”

With the exception of the last one, which was excruciating because of the confetti stitching (only made it 2.5 hours on that one…) I’ve stitched 3-3.5 hours on everything and have had a hard time putting each piece down. I especially loved pulling “Nova” back out. How I love that design! It’s a little cumbersome but I enjoy it a lot and can’t believe I’ve had it relegated to the closet for over 5 years. It’s shameful!

I don’t think I will keep up this pace after the challenge ends, but I will definitely take this as a reminder that I should pull out all of my projects from time to time and work through them all. Except maybe “Augusta”. Or I need to come up with another approach for that one. I don’t grid or highlight, but I can see how those techniques would really make stitching on that project a heck of a lot easier.

Tomorrow Luke starts 2nd grade, which is really hard for me to believe. How can it be tomorrow already?! I know I say this every years; I don’t expect that will change. I have to take him to the dentist this afternoon and then we’ll do some hasty back to school clothes shopping. We tried last night, but he was extremely tired and difficult (he was at his dad’s last weekend and according to Luke was up until 1:24am Friday night, and 10:30pm Saturday night. Whether that’s an exaggeration or not I don’t know, but he was definitely sleep deprived last night!). He got 12 hours of sleep last night so hopefully shopping will be better today. So far his behavior has been a lot better this morning, thank goodness!

6 Responses to “6 More…”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Great job on your rotation, Jill! Wow, hard to believe it’s back to school time already. Where did summer go?!

  2. Melissa C. Says:

    You’re totally kicking my butt in the Olympics! LOL I hope the shopping goes well.

  3. FaithAnnNB Says:

    Wow… congratulations Jill (and Tom)!!! I thought you were getting married sometime in August/September… but obviously had no idea it was this soon.

    I’m so glad you had such a wonderful day. I can understand how it would be sad at the same time. A lot of the highlights of DS’s life are tinged with sadness for me since my dad doesn’t get to share in them.

    On another note, you’ve really been motoring through your WIPs… you have some beautiful projects under way 🙂

  4. Christine S Says:

    Wow, look at all your great projects! They’re all beautiful but I really love Nova. I’ve had that one on my wishlist for a long time! Someday when I have time and money…

  5. Holly Says:

    I still love Nova! I have far too much lined up to do right now that I cannot even consider kitting something like that up!

    All of your progress is great and congratulations…

    I don’t grid but using highlighters on confetti really helps. I usually highlight all of one symbol in an area with a light color (like yellow) then color over with blue as I stitch. Having already stitched stuff in a green blob helps you count and place new stitches, and highlighting ahead of time helps prevent missing one symbol that you’re workin on here and there.

    I cannot wait to see your wedding pics and enjoy your newly wedded bliss!

  6. Susan Says:

    You’re making fabulous progress, Jill!

Leave a Reply

