Catching Up…

Wow, it’s been a whirlwind lately and I have SO much to write. As many people here know, Tom and I got married on Friday (8.8.08, if he can’t remember that then he won’t remember anything). I didn’t really write about it a lot before on my blog. I guess during my divorce I got used to not writing about my personal life a lot, and I just didn’t want any drama in case my ex happened across my blog. But oh well. I haven’t talked to him about it, but he knew we were engaged and besides I imagine it’s very likely Luke has said something at this point.

So yes, wedding. I think everything went really well; it was hard to only get to spend a few short moments with each person that was there, and it was hard to walk down the aisle without my dad there. His older brother, my Uncle Mike, stood in and I was really happy to have him there! Nearly all of my family was there, including my 91 year old grandmother. I don’t have pictures yet, except a couple that friends have e-mailed me. We had disposable cameras on each table, so we’ll get those developed soon. Once I have some photos to share I’ll write a post with photos. For now I’ll just say it was a fabulous day, it was over WAY too quickly, and I was really touched to have had such great friends and family there to share the day with us!

We flew up to Eureka for a few days to rest and relax near the Redwoods. Unfortunately Tom ate something bad (we’re pretty sure it was the chicken fried rice at the San Francisco airport…so avoid that in your travels!). We did get out and do a few things, including a drive down the Avenue of the Giants in the Humboldt Redwoods State Park, and we did some light hiking at Trinidad Head and the Lady Bird Johnson Grove at Redwoods National Park. We had one really great dinner at The Cookhouse in Samoa, and I enjoyed dinner at Curley’s in Ferndale, along with a fabulously decadent dessert. We had a horrible lunch in Garberville, a town where everyone seemed stoned (except the poor waitress who did her best to make up for the useless bus boy…). I recommend avoiding Garberville entirely!

Since Tom was sick, I managed to get a lot more stitching in than I’d intended. Not quite how I’d expected to spend the trip, but oh well. As for the rotation relay I mentioned before, I have now reported progress on 6 entries. I finished a 7th last night while watching the Olympics, but I haven’t posted it yet. Here are the ones I’ve posted so far:

#3: TW’s “Guardian”, after 4.5 hours…it doesn’t look like much progress at all; that knotwork border is a real pain. This was done before the wedding:

#4: SamSarah’s “25 Days”, 4.5 hours of progress. This was during the plane rides and layover time in the airport, as well as some time while Tom was out of it:

#5: Ink Circles’ “Blackstone Fantasy Garden”, about 4 hours:

#6: Chatelaine’s “Mini Mystery I”, somewhere between 3 and 4 hours:

Last night I got almost 3 hours in on the Victoria Sampler Hearts of America project. I finished the current heart (which turned out to be Kansas) and started on another one (Arkansas). I haven’t decided what to work on tonight, but I will hopefully get another rotation done while I watch some Olympics. I’ll post pictures from project 7 later; I have taken pictures but haven’t dumped them from the camera yet. I may wait until I have a couple more to show as well.

So, that’s what’s new with me! I am thoroughly exhausted and cannot wait for the weekend. Luke starts 2nd grade next Tuesday, which is unbelievable. I could really use another week, but I won’t be taking time off from work again for awhile, since I have no vacation time anymore. Hopefully I can sleep in on Saturday at least!

6 Responses to “Catching Up…”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Congratulations on your wedding and best wishes to you both! I remember feeling the same whirlwind on our wedding day as well. So much fun, but it seemed like time just ran out before you could catch it.

    I’d love to see your progress on Hearts of America. I’ve been working on them as well, so let me know if you’d be interested in trading charts.

  2. craftyland Says:

    Congrats to you, Tom and Luke. =) Very, very cool anniversary date!

  3. Terri Says:

    You were a beautiful bride! Congratulations, again, to you, Tom and Luke on your new family.

  4. Melissa Says:

    Sorry to hear that Tom got sick! Congratulations again on your marriage. 🙂

    OMG! I can’t believe Luke is in the 2nd grade already! *faint*

  5. Melissa Says:

    Congratulations on your Olympics pieces, although you’ve now knocked me out of medal contention. LOL

    I’m happy your wedding went well, and I can’t wait to see your pictures.

  6. Sue Says:

    I thought that 8.8.08 was the date! I can’t wait to see some photos, Jill. I am sorry that Tom got sick. What a horrible thing food poisoning is, that’s for sure.

    I’m so happy for all of you. God bless, Sue

Leave a Reply

