Camping and Stitching

Well, I am still not completely over the cold/virus/whatever it is I’ve had. I’m feeling much better though, finally! We spent the weekend camping at the Marion Mountain campground near Idyllwild. It was a pretty good time, aside from still being sick, having my allergies kick in really badly around 1am the first night, and getting devoured by bugs. We camped with both of my brothers and my sister in law. We did some hiking, made s’mores and homemade ice cream, and enjoyed a fairly quiet fourth of July, far away from any illegal fireworks.

I managed to finish up the Shepherd’s Bush piece, finally; I got the stitching done in the car on Sunday so I added beads when we got home. Here it is, “Sunflower Summer”:

I have started SamSarah Designs’ “25 Days” as well. It’s an advent calendar design and the ornaments stitch up very easily because there are big blocks of color. So far I have finished 2 of them, so 23 more to go, plus the background. I’m taking the ornaments with me on our upcoming trip since it should be pretty easy to do in the car. Here is my progress before the trip:

I will definitely not be working on it anymore before we leave. There are a million things left to do before Friday, but if I get any stitching in at all it will be on Chatelaine’s Hawaiian Garden Mandala, which I started last Thursday. There isn’t enough stitched to take a picture yet, but I will soon. I love working on it already.

So I mentioned the trip earlier. We are leaving Friday on a two week road trip. We’ll be hitting Zion, Bryce Canyon, Grand Tetons, Yellowstone, Glacier, and Yosemite. Tom wanted to fit in a seventh national park since I’ve done six in one trip before with my best friend after college (Lassen Volcanic, Crater Lake, Mt. Ranier, Northern Cascades, Olympic and Redwoods) but it’s pretty unlikely that we’ll add another. It should be a great time; we have a day trip of horseback riding and river rafting booked in Glacier, and Luke is really excited about that! It’s a pretty mellow river, class 2 to class 3.

So that’s an update from me…I’m very ready for vacation!

3 Responses to “Camping and Stitching”

  1. Christine S Says:

    Congrats on your HD, Jill! It looks great! Nice start on your new piece, too.

  2. Melissa Says:

    Stitching looks great! Enjoy your vacation; it sounds really fun (and tiring) (and scary!!)! LOL I’m glad you’re starting to get well.

  3. Karin Says:

    Have a great time on your vacation – I hope it’s relaxing, and you get lots of stitching time in.

Leave a Reply

