Adventures in Orthodontia

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned here, but Luke has a severe underbite and his dentist referred him to an orthodontist to have it evaluated. They decided he needed to have an upper expander “appliance”, and after seeing the x-rays I completely understand why. The problem is, he has a horrendous gag reflex. Well yesterday was the day that it finally got installed. It was really, really not a fun experience. What was supposed to take half an hour took an hour and a half. The poor kid threw up five times throughout the experience…glad they requested that I sit in the waiting room, as I know he went to Souplantation for lunch and that’s never fun to watch coming back up.

In the end they did manage to get it in. After about a half hour it was totally fine and he actually thinks it’s “cool”. It doesn’t seem to be bothering him at all, except it’s hard for him to eat. There’s a whole big list of things he can’t eat, and his bites are supposed to be the size of a quarter or smaller. It’s a real challenge since he’s still missing his top front teeth. They said they won’t have me adjust it for a month; we’ll just give him a chance to get used to it. I’m already looking forward to it being done!

In other news, I have a cold. In the summer. Ugh. I was feeling a little off in St. Louis; my lungs and chest hurt, but I attributed it to the fact that people were smoking everywhere (gross, gross, gross!). While this did remind me why I can never live somewhere with less stringent public smoking laws, I don’t think it was entirely to blame. I’ve been up coughing for the last three nights and I am ridiculously tired. I am ready for the weekend already!

5 Responses to “Adventures in Orthodontia”

  1. Susan Says:

    gentle {{{hugs}}} to Luke – poor baby!

    I hear you on the smoking! Chicago recently cracked down on smoking – you can’t smoke in a public building, or within 15 feet of the entrance of a building; it makes life so much more pleasant. It’s always interesting to note the people walking down the street smoking – I always pick them as tourists!

  2. Joanne Says:

    Poor Luke having to go through that. Love the photos of your trip.

  3. Christine S Says:

    Tag, you’re it! (See my blog)

  4. Melissa Says:

    Poor kiddo. Been there, have the t-shirt, except without the vomit part. But we added in piercing screams that I heard in the waiting room. Fun! It gets better, I promise.

  5. Ambispunubs Says:

    Thanks !

Leave a Reply

