Memories and Carrying On

I was checking my brother’s blog this morning and he posted a link to a new album he put on his site which has pictures of my dad. The week between his death and funeral I spent probably 12 hours scanning each and every one of these photos into the computer. When we hastily evacuated last October it was a big comfort to know that these were stored electronically offsite because I’d have been devastated to have lost them forever if there were any I’d missed in our hasty exit.

The link to the new album is http://photo.michaelmallon.net/v/dad/ I looked back through these photos this morning and it was really hard. It still makes me so angry and upset to think that he will never attend another one of Luke’s sport events, or go camping with us again. When I signed Luke up for basketball, little league, and Cub Scouts this year I was reminded of how much my dad loved baseball, basketball, and scouting. When I was in Girl Scouts he was actively involved; I have lost track of how many outdoor cooking classes he taught but there were a whole lot.

As a parent now it’s definitely a challenge to balance working full time, involvement in church (every time I sing in the choir it makes me think of how he sang in the choir when I was a little girl) and all of Luke’s activities. I know that it would have been important to my dad to have Luke carry on the tradition of scouting, though, and he had so much fun watching Luke’s soccer games.

I am glad, though, that he got to experience taking Luke to his first Dodger game. He got to go camping with Luke a couple times and camping was always a big thing in my family. He also got to experience Legoland, soccer, and birthday parties at “Pump It Up” (though he probably wouldn’t have minded missing the Pump It Up experience, based on what he said the last year!). It’s really hard to not have him here anymore, but I know that every time I take Luke to a game, or go camping, or take him to a Cub Scout activity, that there’s a little part of my dad that’s right there with me.

5 Responses to “Memories and Carrying On”

  1. Susan Says:

    {{{Hugs}}}, Jill. I’m glad that your son was able to have some experiences with his grandfather, and I’m sure he’ll treasure them. I saw my grandfather last when I was 4 years old (when we moved from England to Australia), and I still remember him with much affection.

  2. JenJen Says:

    ((Jill)) I’m so sorry you have to be missing your dad when you are still so young. 😦

    On a completely different note – I caught up a bit on your blog and just wanted to tell you the tile looks fantastic – I want to retile our kitchen and bath too – but I’m scared to try to do it myself.

  3. Joanne Says:

    {{{HUGS}}}

  4. Melissa Says:

    I always hate it when people tell me they understand how I feel. How could they possibly understand? But I understand what you’re saying, and how that feels. Hugs.

  5. Sue Says:

    Hugs to you. I enjoyed looking at your album and seeing your dad. I remember meeting your mom once up in Ventura, and it was great to see her photo , too. I’m so sorry your dad is gone, Jill. Life is unfair, that’s for sure.

    Love to you, Sue

Leave a Reply

