Education

A couple weeks ago at choir practice the subject of budget cuts and schools came up. For those who don’t know, the governor of California is proposing a ginormous budget cut to all of the schools. To the school district we’re in, with 34 schools total, the cut means $15.5 million. The latest information I’ve seen means approximately 185 teachers/administrators cut, most extra programs cut (including the last remaining ROTC program in the district and most of the ag programs), and kindergarten classes will go from 20 to 30 students per class.

This came up at choir practice because the choir director is a German teacher at a local high school and there are at least 3-5 other teachers in the choir. I’m very involved at Luke’s school and I’m just sick over this. We have some really fabulous new teachers at his school and I’m so worried about what will happen. I am so disgusted by the priorities here. I don’t know what I can do about it, but it makes me really angry and I needed to vent.

On a positive note, Tom put in the last tile last night while I was taking Luke to get his tux rental for my brother’s wedding later this month (he’ll be the ringbearer). This means we can finish the grouting, install baseboard, order carpet, and get moved. There are still plenty of little things that need to be done: install door knobs, caulk the new shower door, install the second toilet, wire the under cabinet lights, get trim for the can lights, finish vent system for the stove, paint stair banister, refinish fireplace, etc. But the list is definitely getting shorter each day…I can’t wait to have it be all done!

Getting Luke measured for the rental tux was hilarious. Paying for it ($101, after the $20 discount for the “rewards” club we joined) was not. He’s not especially thrilled that I said he needs a haircut before the wedding but oh well. I can’t believe their wedding is just a couple weeks away!

One Response to “Education”

  1. Holly Says:

    I’m sorry you’re missing your dad… I cannot even imagine how painful it must be. I liked looking at his pics tho (and what a little cutie you were!)

    Hang in there! (hugs)

Leave a Reply

