First 2008 Finish

So far in 2008 I’ve spent most of my free time either shuttling Luke to various activities, participating in church-related activities myself, or working on the house. Right now we’re working on priming door casings…hopefully we’ll move onto doors and baseboards this weekend. We get our kitchen counterop installed (fingers crossed) on the 22nd. After that it’s tile floors and carpet, and then we may, just may, get to finally move in. This weekend my mom and brother are coming down so hopefully we can get a lot done! You know, between the 3.5 hours of little league practice (how I wish I was kidding…4-5:30 on Friday, 2:30-4:30 on Saturday), the basketball game from 9-10 on Saturday, and the birthday party Luke’s going to Saturday evening from 5-7.

As I was saying, that’s accounted for most of my free time so far this year. However, I have managed to squeeze in some stitching here and there. Most of it has been at basketball practice or late in the evening after Luke is in bed. Although some of my evenings have been busy doing chores or working on other things for my brother’s wedding in March (or for my own wedding, of course!). I did manage to finish another one of the Melissa Shirley candies in January, this one is the Coconut Candy:

coconutcandy

I have spent most of my stitching time on Blackstone Fantasy Garden by Ink Circles, though. I’ve made quite a bit of progress, considering how little time I have to stitch these days. I just took this photo last night:

blackstone2

It’s actually a pretty easy project to take places; I’ve been working on it at basketball practice. I really love it and I think I’m going to frame it and put it in my office at work when it’s done, so I can look at it all day!

So that’s where I stand…super busy but at least I’m busy with good things this year. I could use a break though! We used to get next Monday off as a holiday but now it’s a floating holiday. I think Tom’s going to take the day off to work on the house. I’m going to bring Luke with me to work so that I can take the floating holiday the week of my brother’s wedding. I don’t have very much vacation time saved up and I’m going to need it later in the year. When we are finally able to take a vacation again I am going to enjoy every second of it!

3 Responses to “First 2008 Finish”

  1. Terri Says:

    All the little snippets you’ve been talking about on your house have me really intrigued, but I love house renovations. I can’t wait to see your new house. I soooo do not miss the times I shuttled DS back and forth to all of his activities! LOL

  2. Christine S Says:

    Great progress on your stitching projects! I like how your garden is turning out.

    I’m glad the renos are going well. I’ll be in the same boat myself in the next month or so!

  3. Idana Says:

    Wow, that’s a really clever way of thniikng about it!

Leave a Reply

