Lots of Productivity

Instead of finishing one needlepoint candy this weekend, I finished two! Here they are:

Buttermint Petitfour:

Cherry Cordial:

I’ve started another one as well and am almost half done with it. After that I only have one more kitted, since I get two a month, so I guess I’ll have to go back to some other stitching soon. I am really loving these! I think I’m going to sign up for the Shiny Brites or the Vintage Ornaments next…I’m not sure which. I see small needlepoint designs as a regular sort of thing for the foreseeable future; it’s fun to do something different for a change.

I also baked about 8 dozen cookies yesterday. Luke has been wanting to decorate sugar cookies (note to self: don’t roll the dough quite so thin next time…) and I made a batch of chocolate crinkles as well. My uncle Mike got in town around 3pm so he got to help decorate the cookies. My brother, Michael, got here around 4pm and he decorated too, but I don’t have an action shot of him:

I made five colors of homemade frosting (if you include white as a color) and then Mike mixed up some brown. Between the cookies, the full house cleaning, and the homemade beef stew I made yesterday, I think I’ve reached my domestic quota for the week. Chores for the day included (but were not limited to): vacuuming, four loads of laundry, cleaning the kitchen (3 times because of cookie batches…), catbox maintenance, toilets (ugh), general picking up. Did I mention my day started out with 3.5 hours at church because the bell choir played at both services? Yeah. I’m ready for a weekend to recover from my weekend! It was a good day though; I love the feeling I have when I’ve gotten so much done and my house is *clean*. Hopefully it will mostly stay that way through Christmas since I’m having a bunch of family down!

4 Responses to “Lots of Productivity”

  1. Susan Says:

    It looks like a fun time was had by all with the baking session!

    Congratulations on your 2 finishes!

  2. JenJen Says:

    I love that feeling of accomplishment too. We also made some cut-out cookies, but I think yours look better than mine! 🙂

  3. Concetta Says:

    Your Christmas cookies look fantastic! : )

    Wishing you all a wonderful Christmas!

  4. Dani Says:

    those needlepoint kits are pretty cool! Can’t wait to see them all together!

Leave a Reply

