A New Start…

Not talking about my personal life this time; on Saturday I couldn’t resist any longer and had to start a new Chatelaine mandala. I have SO many kitted up and waiting and I couldn’t take it anymore. I started Japanese Garden. It will be a gift for my brother and his fiancee (though I expect they’ll be married by the time it’s done since the wedding is in March). She’s Japanese and they have a lot of blank walls in their new home. I’m stitching it on Emilie’s Dawn in belfast, from the original Blended Needle:

I had been working steadily on Brightneedle’s Dollhouse before starting this, so here is my latest progress on that:

And, finally, I promised a pic of my second finished needlepoint candy, Almond Roca:

To answer Karen’s question in my comments, yes, these will be made into 3-D candies. Here’s a link to the shop where I ordered these (as a monthly club, I get 2 per month) with a good pic of several candies finished on a plate, as I plan to have someday:

http://www.theneedlepointer.com/needlepoint-clubs_Candies.htm

Well, I haven’t been having the greatest time the past week or so, but I won’t get into it online beyond saying I wasn’t happy about something that happened at work. I’ll admit I’ve been mopey, which doesn’t accomplish anything, I know. Last night when I got home I was reminded of what is truly important. Tom had left work early and got the fixings for a fabulous dinner: steak (GOOD steak), broccoli (my favorite veggie), homemade garlic bread, apple cobbler, and wine. He’d also bought Super Mario Galaxy for the Wii, which is totally awesome. He had intended to get Tetris for the DS as well, but couldn’t find it. Evidently it isn’t being made anymore (but it’s the best game ever!) but he found a local shop that has a used copy so I think we’re going to go over there at lunch today.

So yeah, sometimes crummy things happen that aren’t right that you can’t control, but at the end of the day I have people who care about me and things are pretty darn good, all considered. I realized last night that I have SO much to be thankful for, and I will definitely be mindful of that tomorrow. I hope all of my American friends will have a blessed Thanksgiving tomorrow, and for my non-US friends I hope you have a fabulous day as well!

7 Responses to “A New Start…”

  1. RC Says:

    Jill, that’s a beautiful start. I love that piece and have wanted it for a long time. I’ll be following your progress! I’m sorry you had a crummy thing happen at work. It’s hard to not let it get to you, so don’t beat yourself up. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. =)

  2. Christine S Says:

    Great start on your mandala!! I can’t wait to see the “candies” made up. Have fun with your new Wii game! DH recently got Super Mario Bros 3 for the Wii so it’s been fun to play that again. I really want to get Wii Fit when it comes out.

  3. Susan Says:

    Sorry things haven’t been great at work. I hope your Thanksgiving was lovely!

    Your dollhouse is lovely!

  4. Karen Says:

    Jill, great start to the mandala, and I love the fabric you’ve chosen! I’m still stuck on Alpine! It’s my next focus piece after I finished “Summer In My Garden.”

    I love, love, love the candies!! What a great idea to display them on a plate! I can’t wait to see how they all turn out. 🙂

  5. CJ Says:

    Love the new start it will make such a wonderful gift whenever they get it. The Dollhouse looks great I have it in my stash to do someday and the little needlepoint candies are a hoot. Enjoy your family.

  6. Dani Says:

    Jill, I hope you had a great thanksgiving. Tom is definately a keeper, cheering you up like that after a bad time at work!

    All of your WIPs are just stunning!!!! Keep stitching and smiling Jill!

  7. Desiree Says:

    Hey! I found your site through Doodle-Head, but we’re neighbors. My folks live in RB (Palacio Ct) and I went to Westwood School. Maybe sometime we could get together and stitch–I live in Clairemont but I’m up there about 3 times per week. PS–your stitching is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

