Halloween (and some stitching)

I’m a little behind, but better late than never. Luke was a ninja this year; primarily because he wanted the ninja sword pack. For $4.99 at Target, plus the $9.99 basic costume, I figured it was reasonable. Without further ado, here is my ninja:

Trick-or-treating was a little different this year. We went with the same friends from the past two years, Aidan and family. There were six kids from first grade at their school, then we ran into a seventh and his parents. There were a lot fewer kids out this year and the police presence in the neighborhood was still very strong. In fact, one of the parents with us was a police officer so one of the police cars stopped and chatted with the parent. The police cars also handed out candy, which I thought was pretty darn neat. Luke’s school did a trick-or-treating event at the school, which I thought was great, especialy for the kids who couldn’t go on their streets.

This was the first year that Luke did some pumpkin carving. Tom did a lot of it, but Luke actually helped. Here is the result:

And finally, here is a Halloween finish, just a little late for Halloween:

I’ve also been working on a new series of projects lately: needlepoint candies. I joined the monthly club at The Needlepointer. So far I’ve finished two, though I only have one picture uploaded so far, the Peach Layered Torte:

I’ll post the next one soon; they’re pretty quick to stitch up and it’s nice to work on something a little different for a change. I’ve finished the Almond Roca one was well and am working on one of the Petite Fours (the yellow one). The designer is Melissa Shirley and I am totally hooked! I’d like to do the Vintage Ornament set next; I blame Summer for this new interest because I couldn’t resist the photos on her site and had to hunt them down.

Well this is a pretty long post for me; guess that’s enough for today!

4 Responses to “Halloween (and some stitching)”

  1. Christine S Says:

    I love your Halloween finish!! It’s so cute. Great job on your needlepoint candy, too. Luke looks great!

  2. Susan Says:

    Cute costume! Ethan went as a Ninja this year, too 🙂

  3. Karen Says:

    Great Halloween design. I love the candy, too. How will you finish it? It looks like it’s supposed to be finished as a 3-dimensional “box”. Is that right?

  4. Dani Says:

    Awww Luke is a real cutie!!!!

Leave a Reply

