Eight Months Ago

Maybe wordpress will work for me today. I don’t know what was up with it last week but oh well. We did manage to survive last Thursday even though it didn’t rain enough to cancel soccer. Tom made dinner while we were at soccer and had it ready on the table when we got home at 6pm. We ate in about 6 minutes, rinsed the dishes, and were at Cub Scouts at 6:12. Whew! From there he took Luke home and put him to bed while I went to choir practice at 7:45. Luke is now a Tiger Cub and his first den meeting is tonight at 6pm. I have bell choir tonight at 7pm…so another busy evening but at least there’s time to make dinner before scouts this time!

On a totally different note it does not escape my notice that it’s the 25th and it’s been eight months today since my dad died. It’s not really any better now than it was eight months ago. Honestly in some ways it’s worse. Initially there’s quite a bit of shock and it leaves you numb for awhile. But eventually it wears off and you have to learn to live with the change I guess. It is still so hard to think that he’ll never see Luke play soccer again or be there for Christmas or for Luke’s next birthday. The thing that’s so maddening is that his death was so completely preventable if he’d chosen to take care of himself. So I guess it’s time for my semi-annual public service announcement: if you smoke, please, PLEASE for the sake of your family that loves you, stop.

6 Responses to “Eight Months Ago”

  1. Stef Says:

    My mother died 5 years ago on October 9th of lung cancer also. It is maddening and there are some days that I miss her terribly and some days that I’m upset and mad that she didn’t stop smoking! She has missed her sweet great-grandson being born 2 1/2 years ago and will miss many more things. It took me a year to stop crying but it’s better now. I think it’s something that you will never get over but you do heal and learn how to cope. Sorry to go on and on, your blog just touch me tonight and I had to let you know that there are others going through the same loss and you are not alone. Hugs!

  2. chiloe Says:

    (((hugs))) I don’t know if we can ever heal the lost of a love one.

    Too bad it didn’t rain 😦 But you are a fast eater !!! lol

  3. Susan Says:

    {{{hugs}}}

  4. Sue Says:

    Hi Jill,
    My brother (just under age 40) took his life almost 12 years ago and left behind 3 children under 18, and a wife. The pain is always there, it just for me isn’t usually quite as intense as it was. At moments it still is, especially when I think about how much he’s missed out on, and how much we miss him still. I can’t imagine what his three children have gone through (my brother’s, that is) and his wife. She still looks haunted by his death.

    My heart is with you, and I am sorry for your loss. It’s really hard, I know. Someone told me, “Grief is the price we pay for love.” Hugs to you.

    When my brother died, I experienced agony for the first time. It’s not easy to handle, that’s for sure.

  5. Susan Says:

    Jill – I tried to sign in for your latest post, but couldn’t get in – would you mind letting me know the password? Thanks!

  6. Sue Says:

    Hi Jill,
    I too tried to sign in for your last post but the password I had here didn’t work. Would you mind letting me know, too! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

