My 4th of July, and Impending Vacation

I hope that my fellow US bloggers had a nice 4th (and a happy Wednesday for everyone else!). It was a good day for me. Luke requested blueberry muffins for breakfast so I made those. Tom came over and we went to REI to do some shopping for our trip next week. We’ll be going up to Washington; my uncle (my dad’s older brother) Mike invited us up to go backpacking in the Olympics and it seemed a fitting way to spend my dad’s birthday (next Wednesday the 11th). Luke will be going to my mom’s for a week; I’m not sure which of them is more excited! She has all sorts of stuff planned from bowling, to the beach, etc. I think it will be really good for her and my brothers to have the distraction of his visit during my dad’s birthday. I expect it to be a pretty difficult day for us all.

Anyway, back to yesterday. We went to REI and then had lunch, went swimming, and went to a 4th of July party at Luke’s friend, Marc’s, house. They were in the same kindergarten class and I got to know his parents fairly well over the course of the school year. Another one of their classmates, Connor, was at the party as well as a couple other families with kids around the same age. We had a good dinner and saw fireworks. The boys got out a slip and slide which was rather amusing. Overall it was a good day; it wasn’t terribly exciting but Luke had a great day and that’s really what matters.

I’m really looking forward to my trip to Washington. I especially like the pacific northwest; I don’t know that I’d want to live with the amount of rain that they typically get but it is so beautifully green and one of my favorite places. Right after I graduated from college I went on a road trip with my best friend and we spent a few days in the Seattle area. I’ve wanted to go back ever since! After we go backpacking we’re going to spend a day in Seattle, go whale watching, and then spend a couple days at a bed and breakfast on Whidbey Island. Hopefully I can get some stitching in on the plane. I’m still working on Alpine Seasons; it is definitely my favorite wip at the moment (funny how that changes from time to time).

Well that’s what up with me. Looking forward to the weekend even though I’ll need to come in to work to make up some hours for vacation next week! I have really dreaded facing my dad’s birthday and it helps to have something to look forward to on that day. I’m sure it will be a special time with my uncle and my dad would have liked that.

7 Responses to “My 4th of July, and Impending Vacation”

  1. Susan Says:

    Your vacation sounds like fun – have a great time. Sending {{{hugs}}} for the 11th. 😦

  2. FaithAnnNB Says:

    Hope you have a wonderful trip!!

    I *love* the pacific northwest. The year that my DH and I lived in Seattle was an especially dry one, so we didn’t experience the “normal” weather for that area… that probably affects my opinion LOL.

  3. FaithAnnNB Says:

    Ooops, I hit submit before I was done…

    will be thinking of you on the 11th… it will be a rough day, I’m sure.

  4. holly Says:

    I hope you have a wonderful vacation. I’ve lived in both Vancouver, WA (just north of Portland) and Seattle. It is my absolute favortie place and the Olympics are beautiful – especially with the rainforest! Maybe I’ll get to move back some day.

    Have fun!

  5. sue (susaninsocal) Says:

    Have a great vacation and I will be thinking of you too on the 11th. Take care of yourself, Jill.

  6. Dani Says:

    Jill, its been awhile since I’ve been able to check in with you… I hope you have a good trip and it helps the healing process!

  7. Karen Says:

    Have a wonderful vacation, Jill. I’m looking forward to seeing your progress on Alpine. I’m starting to wonder if mine will be a WIP forever…

Leave a Reply

