90 Years!

I am SO tired today! We got back last night from three days in the Sacramento and Placerville areas to celebrate my grandmother’s 90th birthday. What an event! My aunt Susan has spent months gathering photos; the objective was to have a picture from each birthday. She ended up only missing 12. It was awesome to see my grandmother’s life like that. It was a fabulous trip with several emotional moments. Saturday evening we congregated at my aunt and uncle’s house in Pollock Pines and scattered my dad’s ashes. Sunday was the party for my grandmother, Clara. The amazing thing is that her older brother, Howard, was there. He lives in Los Gatos and will be 96 in August. He is in assisted living right now and needs a walker to get around but his mental faculties are still intact and he’s doing pretty darn well! My grandmother still lives on her own, though she does use a cane now. She is an amazing woman and the most prominent role model in my life. I took a bunch of pictures and some of them are up on my flickr account. I’m too busy right now to put them in the post but they can be found here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jillejones

5 Responses to “90 Years!”

  1. Tina Says:

    Fantastic photos, thank you for sharing! Your grandmother looks at least 25 years younger than she is, she’s amazing!

  2. Susan Says:

    Happy belated birthday to your grandmother! It sounds like you had a lovely weekend.

  3. JenJen Says:

    Congrats on 90 years to your grandma – and best wishes for many more years with her. 🙂 My grandparents are in their late 80s, so not too far behind!

  4. Joanne Says:

    Loved your photos – your Gran looks amazing.

  5. Susan in SoCal Says:

    That is awesome, indeed. It’s amazing how well some people age. I’m so glad you could all be together to celebrate. My FIL is 92 and was able to fly out for my daughter’s wedding. He too has older siblings that are active, driving, and sharp. There are others who act old when they’re young in years. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

