8 Random Things

Well since Melissa (http://missycor.u.yuku.com/) and Christine (http://mtrlgirl.blogspot.com/) have both tagged me now I guess I’d better get this posted! I’m always so bad about waiting awhile to do these and then there’s no one left to tag; I’m pretty sure that’s the case again here. Oh well! Here goes:

8 Random Things – The Rules

1. Each player starts with 8 random facts/habits about themselves
2. People who are tagged write a blog post about their own 8 random things and post these rules
3. At the end of your blog you need to tag 8 people and post their names
4. Don’t forget to leave them a comment and tell them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

 

My 8 random things:

1. I love spoilers and I always read them. If I watch a show (like The Amazing Race) I will actually go online to find out who won as soon as it’s aired on the East Coast. I also flip to the end of a book well before I’m done reading it; I just can’t stand not knowing the outcome!

2. I am very particular about food (ie, I will only eat lettuce in a salad, not on a sandwich, taco or burger, and the only time I’ll eat ketchup is with mustard on a hot dog. Mayonnaise is horrifying to me).

3. I don’t like to swim in natural bodies of water because the plants and fish freak me out.

4. I want to visit all 50 states someday but so far I’m only up to 15.

5. I was in Girl Scouts for 12 years and got to do amazing things because of it (a month in Alaska and 3.5 weeks in Sweden, they were called “Wider Opportunities” back then).

6. I was a band nerd in high school (played flute and trumpet and the quads in drumline).

7. Hiking and camping are two of my most favorite things to do and I hope to visit every National Park someday.

8. Despite the fact that they’re totally cheesy, I love ABBA. My cellphone plays “The Dancing Queen” when one of my best friends calls.

 

In other news I’ve been frantically stitching on Just Nan’s “Noah’s Sampler Reborn”. It’s a gift for my mom for Mother’s Day. Yes I’m aware that was two days ago. I won’t see her until this weekend, though, so I’m hopeful that I can finish it before then. I’ll be going home for lunch most days this week to get it finished.

I’m also busy planning a trip for July. We originally wanted to go to Europe but it’s too expensive right now (since I’m not paying for it I certainly am in no position to complain! I’m just happy to get to go somewhere this summer.). We’re planning to go up to the Banff/Jasper/Lake Louise area for a week. Unfortunately the original dates we were considering coincide with the Calgary Stampede so we may adjust our plans a bit. We’re planning to go to the Columbia Icefields, do some river rafting, and hike as much as possible! That should get us in good shape for backpacking in August (though I’m still waiting to see if we got a wilderness permit or not).

So things are going pretty well here. I have Luke signed up for summer activities and he’s doing really well in school. He’d already finished this week’s math homework when I picked him up from ESS yesterday.

Oh, the other big news I have is that my middle brother, Matt, asked his girlfriend’s parent’s permission to get married and they said yes (well, first her dad asked if he had a choice or not, but I’m pretty sure he was joking since her parents like him for some crazy reason). I’m so excited! I really like her and I think they’re good together. She doesn’t put up with his crap which is definitely a good thing. He said they’re planning to pick out a ring and make the engagement official next month and they’re looking around Easter of next year. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

