Seaside Stitches and Hooters

When I was on vacation last month I got to stop at Elegant Stitch in Modesto and I picked up Jeannette Douglas’s new chart, Seaside Stitches. I broke down a couple weeks later and ordered the embellishment pack (which arrived promptly) and saw that The Silver Needle had the recommended fabric so I ordered that too. I was very disappointed when they shipped a piece of 32 count star sapphire linen instead. When I called about it they said they couldn’t get the recommended fabric from their supplier (which I can’t figure out because my LNS ordered it for me last Saturday…) and were shipping that out instead. I wish they’d called or e-mailed to let me know because I would have told them not to bother. The lady on the phone was nice enough and said I could send it back for a refund but I probably won’t go to the trouble.

I’m normally pretty easy going about my stitching supplies. I figure I have enough to stitch for three lifetimes and it’s exceedingly rare that I need something right away. I was planning to start this one right away, though, and it’s so disappointing to have to wait. I keep looking at the nice big photo at Stitching Bits and Bobs and I want to start it now! Those little over-one bits are fabulous. Between the Brightneedle Dollhouse and the next ornament in the RR I’m in, I’m very much enjoying over-one stitching at the moment. I don’t want to wait for my fabric to come in; I want it to be here now! Sometimes it can take awhile for orders to come in at my LNS. I really hope this one arrives quickly. Have I ever mentioned that patience is one of those virtues I don’t have? That applies to more than just stitching and is a basic character flaw of mine but I’m working on it.

Since I didn’t get flamed yesterday about my strike/union post, I’ll venture onto another topic that annoys me: Hooters. Oh how I hate Hooters. Much to my dismay there’s one opening next Monday in my neighborhood. It’s appalling! I have a one mile commute and it’s something I actually have to pass on my way to work. A restaurant finally goes in that’s close enough to walk to from work and it’s the least likely place I’d want to go (except maybe Burger King; I hate Burger King too). Anyway, I live and work in a quiet suburban community in north county San Diego. Like I said yesterday there are a number of retirement homes and communities in the area and the biggest danger I encounter are people driving who really shouldn’t be any longer. Why the heck would anyone decide to put a Hooters here?! Oh how I hope it fails miserably.

My dislike for Hooters is another one of those things that stems from a particular event in the past, rational or not (well and I think it objectifies women and I’ve worked hard to prove I have a brain and not just boobs, thanks). Two days before my due date with Luke, over six years ago now, my brother was in town for the holidays and he wanted to go to Hooters. So we went to the one down in Mission Beach. I was huge, uncomfortable, and had to sit at one of those tall bar-like tables. The burger I had was one of the worst ones I’ve ever had, the service was slow, and since I gained more than I should have while pregnant it was really not fun looking at skinny girls with fake boobs while I felt like a giant cow. And now there’s one going in down the street, ugh.

There’s been a fair bit of protest over the Hooters going in here and in the news it’s being said that there will be more of a “family restaurant emphasis” at this one. I wonder what that means. Does that mean there will be crayons and high chairs available? Or will the waitresses have to wear actual clothing instead of strips of skin tight fabric? I understand that there are worse things than Hooters, but it’s even closer to my house than a Starbucks for goodness sake. I can’t get a decent cup of coffee on my way to work without doubling my commute but now I can get wings and boobs on my way home…oh joy.

5 Responses to “Seaside Stitches and Hooters”

  1. Susan Says:

    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/17705663/
    If it’s any consolation, Hooters are opening their first restaurant in Israel…

    I don’t get the fuss about Hooters – the waitresses are not attractive…

  2. Susan in SoCal Says:

    I’m with you, Jill. I don’t like the idea of Hooters, either. How can a restaurant whose name alone depicts breasts be ever described as family oriented? I was sickened at work one year when I heard that an upper grade student described the highlight of his summer as a dinner trip to Hooters with his parents.

    It’s funny, I don’t think the women’s movement has helped at all with de-objectifying women as sex objects. All one has to do is look at the media’s output to see that now it’s only worse. Women haven’t come far at all. I know many young teen females whose only aspirations are to have cute belly button piercings. Gosh, haven’t we come far? Sorry to go on a rant, but I could go on and on regarding this subject.

    Sorry I missed seeing many last week at the GTG. I was there in spirit!

    By the way, I too am tired of union stuff. It’s going on at my work now, and I don’t agree at all with our union’s tactics at this moment. It’s very annoying.

  3. Suz Says:

    I hate Hooters, too. Their food is just awful, IMO, and the only reason it’s profitable at all is because of people wanting to go there to stare at tits. My boss is obsessed with Hooters and it’s honestly very embarrassing to hear him talk about it. He’s the department chair, he shouldn’t be mentioning thins like that around other visiting scientists, faculty, or staff.

  4. Dani Says:

    Gosh I would of been roayally ticked if I had ordered one thing and the shop saw fit to sub it without contacting me!!!

  5. Karin Says:

    I’m not a big Hooters fan either – I’m not really sure how the one here stays in business, as the food isn’t that good (IMNSHO), and it never seems to be busy.

Leave a Reply

